Pak to Join India as Non-Permanent Member of UNSC

The Asian rivals will share the space as non-permanent members of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) during 2012. India’s term, which started in January 2011 will expire in December 2012. Pakistan will serve the two year term from January 2012 to December 2013. We can expect cooperation between the two countries at the international level. More significantly, five of the ten non-permanent members of the UNSC during 2012 will be from Asia and Africa with the entry of Pakistan, Togo, and Morocco. The other two members from the region being India and South Africa. So, in 2012, we can expect greater Afro-Asian cooperation at the UNSC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page